Since 2002, the annual Pop Conference has been a forum where diverse types of writers—critics, journalists, academics, independent researchers, musicians and beyond—share their high-quality work with an unusually engaged community. Participants who live and breathe pop music engage each other and audiences with work that epitomizes intellectual insight, creative risk, and stylistic experimentation. All our events are open to the public.

More info:

The 2020 Pop Conference Programming Committee includes:

  • Hanif Abdurraqib (writer and cultural critic)
  • Raquel Gutiérrez (writer, performer)
  • Gerrick Kennedy (writer and cultural critic)
  • Summer Kim Lee (UCLA)
  • Iván Ramos (University of Maryland)
  • Robert Rutherford (Museum of Pop Culture)
  • Karen Tongson (University of Southern California)
  • J.D. Samson (musician, NYU Clive Davis Institute of Recorded Music)
  • RJ Smith (author)
  • Oliver Wang (CSU Long Beach)